You are here

Chairman Message

Chairman Message

Clinical Laboratory is one of the most important subjects of the Medical Sciences. Traditionally the Clinical Laboratory Sciences is divided into four main areas of study: Medical Microbiology, Clinical Chemistry, Haematology and Blood Transfusion, Histopathology and Cytology.

With the progress of time various other specialties of Clinical Laboratory Sciences have emerged from the mainstream areas mentioned above. Medical Microbiology is now subdivided into Virology, Bacteriology, Parasitology and Mycology, all of which are specialties on their own. Immunology, the study of the immune system and its response, has its roots in Microbiology but now is also a specialty on its own. A more recent development is the birth of Molecular Diagnostics. Molecular biology techniques are used to identify the genes of invading microorganisms from the body fluids or tissues of patients. These techniques are also used to investigate the genetic make-up of patients in certain diseased states.

Clinical Laboratory Sciences can hence be described as the study of the sciences used to investigate and diagnose probable diseased states in patients , for proper treatment and follow-up of these patients.

Our department is committed to instruct students academically and technically to play an effective role in the detection, diagnosis and treatment of diseases by acquiring appropriate knowledge, skills, ethics and attitudes necessary for professional practice in medical laboratories to contribute to the growth and advancement of the healthcare expanding demands in the kingdom.

Chairman of Clinical Laboratory Sciences .

Dr. Abdulah Alyossef